This exile is not to bad..

Hello my friends. .. thought it was about time that I posted another episode from these ere hills. ..
It’s been a little while since the last offering  that I’ve actually forgotten what’s happened.
Anyway  let’s try and make a little sense of my photo time line
.
.here goes…. its been 30 years since the cloud factory was bought by an independent family run company.  and 30 years since yours truly graced the shop floor.. In that time I’ve seen it all and suffered some complete blowhard bosses, all of them long gone, thank the lord!

in the early days of the cloud factory it was very the “A typical” twenty years service and receive your clock

image

. but nowadays.. long service awards are every 5 years, so this time as a recognition of the 30 long span I opted for a voucher to spend as I feel. …and a wise spend has been done… I’ve only gone and bought a real pucker digital camera, a one to capture some of this county in all it’s glory. it even has Wi-Fi so that the images can be passed over to the blog with ease…… happy days. It’s a http://www.canon.co.uk/for_home/product_finder/cameras/digital_slr/eos_70d/  I would have loved the professional 5d mark iii but at 2K plus that’s a bit of an extravagant buy..
.
image

.so, as you can see in the photo, there’s been some massive changes in the plant…. and it’s still growing within it’s boundary… its even changed since that photo was taken..

 

earlier in the month I had some car trouble..:-( the bus had started to suffer a very peculiar clutch fault.. it started to slip @ 2000 revs in 4th or 5th… no other gear!!!! anyway, Land Rover took it in and diagnosed a known fault. they duly replaced the clutch/dual mass flywheel and the slave cylinder. FOC… in the mean time they gave me a Range Rover Evoque  as a courtesy car…. wow, now that’s what I call service.

it didn’t get any favours from me and got the same route home as the beefier Discovery. to tell you the truth it was a nice vehicle but is definitely a Chelsea tractor… and it was only two wheel drive!!!!! I mean,  .. a land Rover, … two wheel drive ….. whatever next!!!

..
image
.
. as I’d already organised a trip , I just had to go to see my good friends and celebrate the long service (and their daughters promotion) while I had the Evoque.
.
image
.
. A truly nice time with good friends, god I love these people…. Saturday was topped by a fantastic meal an good wine and Sunday was just a peachy day spent by the coast over in Rock cliff and Kippford in Dumfries and Galloway
.
image
.
.where we had Nan out for a good hike. the weather was somewhat odd… and the cloud formation very strange… all I can assume was that the streaks of very high cloud was the jet stream
.
image
.
.
.
image
.
.on my return to republic HQ, I was inspired to do steak for my tea, Carol had cooked a fantastic steak for supper, so my thought was “I can do that” and …Yesssss, result.

loving this cooking lark, it’s so addictive
.
image
.
.its been a little chilly of late and bless her Nan has been getting some quality time in the house, as you know , she’s officially a working dog an sleeps outside but…… she still needs a cuddle
.
image
.
.back at the work front, we had agreed to swap things around and that meant some heavy duty FLT driving for me. this came as a breath of fresh air, this thing weights over 20 ton an lifts about 16ton to over 5.2meters high, proper boys toy..
.
image
.
.It’s also been a bit of a cold snap up in these ere hills….. coming home from a nightshft, the road just got whiter and whiter, until eventually there was 2″ of snow at the HQ. very dramatic skies as well..
.
image
.
.
.
image
.
.took a we bit of time to get the new camera, but the initial test hand held shots with not much getting used to the settings seems promising
.
image
.
.
.
image
.
.
.
image.
. these last few are all done hand held at night, no flash and with only an understanding of lighting , Fstops and exposures.
.

image

of course the two favourite girls in my life just had to be photographed as well

 

 

 

 

image

Well. … that’s about it for this post……. so until the next time..TTFN

6 replies »

  1. Lovely photos, I particularly like the moon shot. My husband has the EOS 5d ii and I can’t even begin to understand it!!! I stick to point and shoot but I do have 5 different digital ones that I use depending where we are.
    In the spring/summer I normally have one in my bag and as I work constant nights, it’s common to see skunks, possums and hawks. Typically I had the wrong one with me when an owl landed on the flag pole outside. All I got was “black” grrrrrr.
    Best wishes

    Liked by 1 person

    • Miriam, most of the photos in this blog are done with a mobile phone….. Samsung galaxy s4

      Like

  2. Beautiful photos and nice to see you and your girls looking so well. Excited to see what you get up to when you master the camera! All the best!

    Like

    • The best thing is the wifi. . You can work the camera remotely via an app on my phone or laptop
      .. you see what the camera see’s without touching it.

      Like

      • I always fancied having GPS in the camera so I could geotag my photos. Last time I looked the Nikon accessory cost more than twice as much as the camera, and even the Chinese no-name units were stupidly expensive 😦

        Liked by 1 person