The heat. … I’ve literally melted

Job done… the grass is cut…yey!!
Not without incident mind you.

image

The reason I said I’m melted is because,  this time of year is peak times for the dreaded clegg or horse fly.
Horse fly bites are painful, the bites of large specimens especially so. Most short tongued (short proboscis) species of horse flies use their knife-like mandibles to rip and/or slice flesh apart.

Horse fly bites are more immediately painful than that of its mosquito counterparts, although it still aims to escape before its victim responds. The flies are very agile and adept at flying. Their bites may become itchy, sometimes causing a large swelling afterward if not treated quickly.

They are often not deterred by attempts at swatting them away, and will persist in attacking, or even chase their intended target for a short time.

I despise these sneaky assassins. .. they land on you with the utmost stealth then bang. .. One painful bite.

If you’re lucky you spot them but damn are they hard to swat. .
Best way is to watch them as they’re just about to take a chunk out of you and …whack, got it.

Anyway I digress. . To stop the little feckers from chomping down on me as I busy myself with quad and flail…. I wear protection in the form of a fleece. .. not the thing to be adorned in on a day like today. ..

image

image

All told it must be about 8 acres to cut, all of which takes time and is actually a pleasure to do.

Set it up, ear defenders on, music on and away you go…

image

I’d been at it for a while in this heat then it dawned that i hadn’t brought any water with me..
Needed to fill up the fuel anyway so both the kit and me had a pit stop. .
My liquid refreshments, rather more appealing than petrol. .

image

Although at 7.4% it was rather strong. ..

image

And the results showed. .

image

Oops. ..dog’s hind leg!
So at this point I thought it best that nan drove

image

image

All was going well and was on course for completion by 8pm. … untill

Ran out of fuel. .. and the Jerry can I had spare had been used by persons unseen. ..feckin fudge packers. .

Anyway. . This morning saw me of to the feed merchant’s for both animals and me. Then also a fuel stop as well.

Great job..  that will be sorted in half an hour when I get back methinks. ..

NOT SO FAST the curse of sods law struck. .

The flail hammers self destroyed themselves. ..

image

image

image

So what was going to be an easy short job turned into a marathon of heating bending and welding,  all for the sake of a decent sized lawn area😠

image

It’s just something to do with old age methinks, we all get tired. .

So this afternoon I’ve been to introduce myself t to a farmer who has grey  squirrel related problems, and have spent the afternoon on the hunt..

image

 

to add to the frustration, my photos have uploaded in an odd way, as in squashed up…..grrrrr

1 reply »

  1. Great blog again Steve – LOL what a hell of a time you are having, very hot here but thank god no cleggs (horseflies) season for them is over here, reason I stay south in Ontario – North Ontario is plaqued with mozzies – mind we are off to tropical climes next week so armed with all the deterrent possible (good old Deet!) glad you are enjoying a hot summer

    Like