Orkney and the ancestors

Firstly,  some late photos from last night. ..
image

Commonwealth war graves in a remote cemetery near Ness..
image

Which is where I prepared my chicken and chorizo salad. .. very tasty. .

image

And still daylight at nearly 11pm

image

Even midnight and you can still take a photo

Slept like a log last night. . Started the day with a bacon and egg sandwich and a hello from a chocolate lab.. bit overweight. . That’s the dog, not me.. didn’t get its name. . He was more interested in my sarnie

But onwards. .. off to Shapinsay…..

why I hear you ask.. well my mam traced her ancestors back to a Croft on Shapinsay. . It’s a place called lingro

After advice and directions from the ferry man.. looks like I’ve found it

Must say… what a lovely accent the locals have… touch of Norse. .

What a tiny place. . But I bet it was cosy. .

image

In fact the guy who lives here now, works on the ferry between Kirkwall and shapinsay. …. and has a chocolate labrador. ..

image

After a cuppa. . It was back to the ferry via a round trip to Stromness

Interesting wee place.. the main street is paved wit flagstones and only wide enough for one vehicle
image

Took this when I had chance and breathing space for two cars to pass.

Of course the one thing that stands out for me is… Scapa Flow. .. I would love to dive the wrecked vessels but my diving days are over..

So all I can do is photograph the views
image

image

My trip back to the ferry took me past what is a fascinating little icon of WW2
The Italian chapel on Burra
image

image

Double click the photos to zoom in and read the text. .
image

image

image

As for the rest of my evening. .. took nan for a beach walk at Dunnet. .
image

And ended up in Scrabster to sample some fine seafood

image

image

Where I lay my head is another thing. ..

Oh…. i know. …..the land rover!

1 reply »

  1. So pleased you saw Lingro, There were two abodes there, occupied by my forebears. They needed them as the family was quite large (as most were in those days). Lovely photos, I am hankering to go back.

    Like