And so… the adventure begins

Pretty poor start to the journey. . Damp … drizzle. .. midge infested morning. .. my original idea was to head up out of the Republic via the A68 and over the Carter Bar and just head north..
As it turned out. .. an impromptu stop off in Carlisle was called for. .Lloyd Land Rover needed some information from me and I needed to book speedy in for its first Mot.
All is not lost though. . It means I head towards Edinburgh via the A701 through Moffat

image

And with little to no traffic on what turns out to be the most scenic of routes,  was a pleasure to drive.

image

Edinburgh bypass and and the traffic around the city was light as well. . What a  nice surprise! !

image

My first stop of was a place that holds good memories. . That’s Crail and the cart track on the old naval air base.. http://www.secretscotland.org.uk/index.php/Secrets/RNASCrail
Met a farmer who wasn’t to keen on nan being off her lead… but once he saw she’s a working collie he was an absolute gent.. We got chatting about the track.. health and safety and ho feckin ridiculous it is to impose H+S rules to motor sport. .. knobs!

So after coffee I headed to Dundee  over the Tay bridge

image

and on to Braemar.
. Stopping along the way to cook tea. . Nice chicken breast fillet with salad.. All under taken at the side of a single track road with stunning views. .

image

image

I’ve ended up stopping with the Queen at Balmoral. . She asked me in for drinks. . I couldn’t refuse,  naturally. She said “square sausage for breakfast mind”

4 replies »

  1. Great blog Steve and the view of Dundee is great – thank you – this is where Richard was born and bred – we usually stay at the hotel at the far end of the bridge when we are over.

    Like