Dry weekend.. Well almost!!!

Tis Monday and here I am back making clouds, the only reason I can pen this is because,  my normal duties are up to date so I’ve opted to drive an FLT for the last couple of hours.
Anyway, what a belter of a weekend, mine actually started on friday straight from night-shift. The SAAB was booked in to my good friend Willie so that he could change the broken spring. As one had smashed I thought it wise to replace the pair along with the top bearings. Now if i had tried to do this it might have ended badly for me and the car, you need proper spring clamps to take the front suspension apart. luckily Chris here is a dab hand…

image

The rest of my afternoon was spent visiting my parents and changing filters on old blue..

image

And also the water filters for the domestic supply. That filled the day nicely untill bath and an early 9pm bed. The day for me, by the time my bed grabbed me was 30 hours long

Saturday,

bit grey first thing in the morning  but, the first job on the agenda is put the traps in.  I’ve been having trouble with the sheep knocking over and snapping my bamboo cane markers, so this is my solution out to test. this is a stainless steel TIG welding rod. based on the design of a stake that would be used to tie a dogs lead to, it is springy so won’t be knocked down or snapped.

image

all it needs is a better indication of where it is, coz its blurry hard to spot, but at least it works.  boi…oing…

going to get some more rods this week and make a batch..

image

the afternoon was spent having our first ever mountain bike ride together, when Mrs R used to have the horse, we used to go together, me on the bike and her on the horse. we covered a good 8 mile on our first ever outing, not bad.

image

saturday night was spent at a 70th birthday party in the local club. the night was rather good, two comedians and an accordion player plus plenty drink and food, all rounded of with a nightcap at one of our neighbours who have a falconry business.

image

image

it was gone three in the morning before home and bed.. with one very wetted whistle!!!

Sunday… and in the fantastic sunshine, both Mrs R myself and paige took ourselves of to check traps.

image

finding one or two had been checked by the Badgers first

image

the gloves are used to stop my scent ending up on the trap, moles have an extremely good sense of smell.

image

after lunch and a visit from my 4-year-old nephew (who just loves it up here) it was time to tackle some more logs.

image

image

with help from Paige  regarding the kindling…

image

plenty cut

image

but not all of them split… ran out of time.. and the shed still doesn’t get any fuller..

image

well that’ll do for this post, as I’m up again for the cloud factory beckons in the morning..

check out my other blog, well I say mine, Mrs R looks after this one..

http://warkarearedsquirrels.wordpress.com/

The Northumbrian

more scribbles later…TTFN…Posted from WordPress for Android

