My weekend off…….not!

Friday
And the first task is get new parts for the saab and landrover. A quick trip to see TMS http://www.tmsmotorspares.co.uk/
For a set of rear discs and pads for the saab and a drag link end for the landrover. Good bunch in my local branch, Graham who seems to know me and calls me by my first name was spot on, the parts whisked off the shelf and into my hands in double quick time.

Age is a funny thing, i find that the youth always know who you are, but when it comes to knowing whos son or daughter someone is, i’m lost. It’s strange, take for instance, when i was in my twentys, the motorcycles i owned and the lads i knocked around with(and still do); made such an impression on some of the local teenagers and younger, that to this day i still get a lot of respect from the not so spotty oiks these days. Of course they are all in their twentys and thirtys, with jobs, hence when you go to somewhere like TMS you get the Grahams of this world. I must find out how he knows who i am…

I’ve got a waffle on, shut up me!

Anyway it was then over to ATS to arrange two tyres for the saab

image

I opted for the same brand that was fitted to the landrover last month, they have been exceptional for wet grip and road noise.
Once home the job of replacing discs was first on the agenda,

The offside being the worst,
image

image

The caliper and slider was soon dismantled followed by the horrible little grub screw that’s invariably seized solid, not this one though.
image

What a difference.

Once the disc was removed from the plastic, first thing was clean the thin film of protective oil from it.
image
All clean and tidy then stick it all back together
image

image

Job done, from start to finish both discs took under an hour, not bad.
After lunch the task of drop arm link was looming, to my surprise the bits came apart with ease and I soon had the replacement in situ
image

The next brain teaser was to figure out how to remove the front protection bar, this job needed referring to my trusty lr workshop manual as no obvious sign of a bolt or screw could be found
image

I need to replace the fog lights, these ones have had seepage!
image

And I have some after market ones to fit into the holders
image
What was deemed as an easy mod by me has turned into a big job. The trouble is, time is short and I’ve ran out of it for today.
Saturday.
Woke this morning with the knowledge that today i would be scratching around in boxes of old lister parts, looking for a rectifier for Andrews ST2.
Looks like we got one, found an identical bit, only trouble is, no test. This is the bit
image

I just hope the second-hand one works, the modern replacement is proving hard to match.
My afternoon was filled with dog hiking and squirrel monitoring.
image

Looking for drays in this…
image

Is like looking for a needle in a haystack…
Sunday,
First task was to move one of the biggest tables I’ve seen in someones house. Mrs republic and I have sat around this table and shared some good times with our good neighbours in the valley. The table is solid oak, 3 inches thick, 4 foot wide and 10 foot long. My neighbours are embarking on a bit of building work and needed this leviathan moved. Soz no photo, forgot my phone.
Going on from that job it was time to check the mole traps. Paige was so looking forward to a mooch,
image

and as we walked, the farm with its two forlorn towers awaiting the decision on who replaces what.
image

Mr farmer informs me, the problem stems from a bad batch of mounting base bolts. The whole concrete foundation needs to be replaced and it’s only a matter of who pays. It certainly isn’t him.
The afternoon was filled with log cutting and splitting
image
Followed by the most scrumptious roast pork Sunday lunch with all the trimmings including proper crackling, mmmmm… Yum…
Monday,
Back in to the cloud factory for night shift but first…
More research needed on this
image

Turns out its a selinium stack rectifier and i have managed to find a manufacturer.http://www.gdrectifiers.co.uk/ with a bit of luck we may have a solution.

In between all that we decided to take the bull by the horns and rip out the hearth from our dining room.
image

Reason being, we decided a while ago to replace the naff multifuel stove.
The hearth was to high and needed droping, managed to do it without to much mess….
image

more scribbles later…TTFN…Posted from WordPress for Android

2 replies »

  1. Good stuff πŸ™‚

    Always think there’s something good you could do with the used disc. Never fund it though.

    Shame you missed a photo of the table.

    Like

    • Mmm,, yes, me thinks a used disc is best melted down to make, well, whatever. Mr scrap man will get these…

      Like