A photography day

Six am start,
First job was to deposit paige with grandma. Job done and of to catch the train. It’s been twenty five years since I last travelled the journey to newcastle city centre, culminating in the iconic view that’s known world wide.
image

Everyone met at another toon landmark, the laing art gallery.
image

The twelve of us took a walk around the city centre composing and snapping away at all manner of things.
We started by taking photo’s in a secluded cemetery and trying to get aperture setting and iso values correct. (obviously it’s not the sort of things I can manage on a smart phone).
here’s some of the sort of things i can manage on a smart phone.
image
image

image

image
Once you get hooked by the photography bug it’s amazing what you see when you look, or even look up.
image

Even the most mundane things take the on a new perspective, pitty about the gum on the stone flags.
image

You may look at these and wonder WTF … But trust me, when you use a DSLR and set it up correctly, the results can be ace.
image

After a spot of lunch we started by taking photo’s in full manual mode. As one of the class said “off the green square ”
This shot using the DSLR was in focus backgrounds and blurred foliage.
image

Then off to the civic centre for some artful snaps using slow and fast shutter speeds.
Better half gained more from today than yours truly.

When I was a youth, my brother bought himself a 35mm SLR camera, my favourite subject was night photo’s but at the time film was pricey and you didn’t waste photo’s.

This set me up in good stead for today as things came back that I’d forgotten.
image

image

These are only shots of the subject matter and by no means are they as good as my pro camera.

That’s it for this evening, I will try to upload some better shots to flickr. So night y,all…..

